Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Cruising around Asia...
26 décembre 2006

Bangkok arrivals... Snorkelling xmas and Thai mood

Merry Xmas to all!!!

So.. THAILAND!!!! WOW that was a real choc for me… I really felt I was coming from the middle age period into modern society!!

The first 2 days, while I was waiting for Jeanfi, I stayed in the tourist place in Koa San. As usual in the lonely planet for India, this kind of place was not that touristy… but THERE it was just like if I ended up in the middle of California… So many americains… so many foreigners, surrounded by bars, music and fake t-shirt of all kind… I hated it!!! And felt so not into it…Of course I found everything you need on earth when you are consuming!! So it was quite funny after I asked Jeanfi to bring so many things for me like those baby towels… Actually next to my Hotel I found a BOOTS… hahahaha I felt home… Of course your habits just come back in a click, and I went straight in a beauty salon to get a Thai massage… I just stayed in my room at night watching TV and those Xmas movies… It was soooo weird after I had experienced so far, either in Indiaor in my last day in Kathmandu!!! Thailandis definitively ASIA… the people, the atmosphere and the ORGANISATION… actually this is what you expect an organized country… It has its good and bad sides, because of course its much easier to travel and to found what you need, but also it takes out the adventurous side of the trip and the authenticity!!! But I think you must get off the main tracks to found real Thailand…

On THE day, I went to found at the airport Jeanfi, it was really really cool!!! I was a bit afraid to found him in bad shape after his work and journey… but no, as usual Jeanfi was in a great mood and so happy to arrive!!! He didn’t even had a quick nap… just straight to visit and a massage, of course!!! We spent our first thai dinner in a great place, of course we immediately spotted the BOBO ( bourgeois boheme)  area and found an exceptional place… with only young Tai people with a rock bad playing live music… it was so nice!! And the Thai people are just awesome and so friendly warm people!!! We really enjoyed it.

The next day, we (and I, because so far I just did not do ANYTHING expect that massage) we went all around Bangkok, long tail boat, temples and we ended up in a HUGE mall, it was so funny and so modern again… just another world, because its even more modern then certain parts of Europe…

Then, we took a plane on the 25th to Phuket, and stayed one night in Kao Lak, one of the most divested place in 2004 by the Tsunami… now you have less touristy, which is not bad… so we spent Xmas eve there.. next to a reggae bar… nice. It was quite complicated because I really thought we would get there on the 24th. But the timing was not good, no flights on the 23rd and only one boat very early in the morning on the 24th. So we had to wait patiently on the coast.

Jeanfi_BisousAfter all we managed to catch up with Christine and Cato. I was so excited to join them. For the one that don’t know, Christine is my aunt, she has been sailing around the world with Cato (her husband) under the Norwegian flag for 9 years!!!!!!!!! So that was a big big moment for me to see FINALLY their floating house!!! Now I must admit, I know they are really doing good… just check the pictures!!! I was so pleased to share xmas with them. We don’t have that many chances to see each other on the Venediger’s side and to gather especially for those special moments!! So just imagine, also going off for the 1st time away from my family and friends, and during such a trip, how pleased I was to see them… Jeanfi had also a great time I think and enjoyed snorkeling for Christmas and share moments with us. I was so happy that he could realx a bit, and take time with me for xmas, far from his relatives.

Jeanfi also was amazing on the fact that he was the Xmas father, I had so many presents even my stockings filled up with l’Occitane presents, champagne and Foie gras…and xmas carols!! Hehhehe so it was perfect!!! Even if I missed my family!! But I can’t complain, and just wished they were here!!!

Today, we took our boat back to the coast, and now staying for the night in Krabi to reach Ko Lanta tomorrow morning and stay there until the 29.

Now I’m in the Thai mood, and get along well with it... the landscape are just Fabulous, and impressive… finally I get used very quickly to the cleanness of the guesthouses and the efficiency of their organization in terms of transport and comforts!!!

Publicité
Commentaires
J
Hello Freddy! (I suppose so, since its always posted from the same email adress)<br /> Well i finally discovered that i could respond to comments... Anyway, you don't need to wonder why i censored your message. <br /> I'm happy that you have so much interest in my blog, and even watch several times the photos. I'm glad to have finally news from you Freddy, i also hope that you are doing well.<br /> Take care
F
Hey Jess,<br /> <br /> check our blog:<br /> <br /> <br /> http://web.mac.com/vicvenediger/iWeb/Christmas%202006/Welcome.html<br /> <br /> luv<br /> <br /> PAPA
F
Hi Jess<br /> <br /> here we are again !<br /> <br /> we are curious to know why you deleted Freddie's message and a photo of Christine? Was this because of Thai censorship........?<br /> <br /> Where r u now? Hope u r not feeling too lonely now that JFi has left....... must be difficult to get back into the cultural grind of visiting such interesting countries.<br /> <br /> We're catching up on sleep and eating far too much - just in case we cant find food in dubai.<br /> <br /> keep the photos coming<br /> <br /> fondest love from us all and Happy New Year<br /> <br /> Bon Bout d'an<br /> <br /> Freddie, Alex, Vic and Papa
M
Hello Jess,nous sommes a megève en train de visionner tes belles photos, avec Didier et Raoul...il fait super beau... pas de neige.... et enfin un endroit ou il y a un accés au web, pas comme ce trou des 7 laux...je ne reconnais pas le paysage de barcelone didier<br /> gros baisers de bonne année pour une petite voyageuse...<br /> mille bisous, <br /> maman, raoul, didier
L
hey ma poule!<br /> Feliz XMAS!!!<br /> Puis une pensee au 31, decalees<br /> bise a tous les 2! <br /> LAurene
Cruising around Asia...
Publicité
Cruising around Asia...
Publicité